I am working on a very small software project and when I save a file (the only file in that directory), Nextcloud often seems to feel that the version stored on the server is newer than the version I just stored and makes the newest version a conflict file and reverts to the server version, which can be very damaging if I am not aware of it. I have not found many people describing this problem (one I did find was "Single user file conflicts on every save/change").
So, just to make it clear, I am the only person editing that file, which is not shared ! ! In fact, I am the only user on the system.
A similar problem occurs when I rename a file, where the file often reappears with the old filename. I have even seen a few cases where a deleted file was resurrected from the server instead of getting deleted there too.
The problem has been persistent across at least one but more likely a couple of Nextcloud versions and is driving me even more bonkers than I already am. If I do not find a solution, I cannot see how I can keep using Nextcloud as this is just too irritating as well as a disaster in waiting.
My setup is Nextcloud Client on a Debian laptop to a Debian firewall with nginx that redirects to a Raspbian machine with Nextcloud server (13) on a MariaDB database. I originally used SQLite3 but changed to MariaDB because of these problems. I can see that the setup described in the referenced link is similar to mine, so maybe nginx or the Raspberry Pi (or the combination) constitute the problem. Unfortunately I have limited free time to inverstigate the problem and would therefore love to hear if anyone has some ideas.