Sodium Monitoring Request: Confirm on Delete


  • Service Provider

    Currently if you click an X on a machine in the Sodium Dashboard, it just deletes the item immediately, no warning, no text saying that that is what it does, nothing. If you accidentally click there, gone. If you are wonder if that is a button, gone. If you wonder what it does, gone. It's a bit dramatic.

    Being able to delete is good, but I feel like this might be a feature that needs to be "hidden" unless enabled. Like you have to click something elsewhere on the screen to have it show up at all so that it is never taking screen real estate or inviting click errors, and if clicked it needs a stern warning asking if you really mean to delete a machine from the system since reinstalling isn't necessarily trivial.

    @QuixoticJeremy



  • @scottalanmiller said in Sodium Monitoring Request: Confirm on Delete:

    Currently if you click an X on a machine in the Sodium Dashboard, it just deletes the item immediately, no warning, no text saying that that is what it does, nothing. If you accidentally click there, gone. If you are wonder if that is a button, gone. If you wonder what it does, gone. It's a bit dramatic.

    Being able to delete is good, but I feel like this might be a feature that needs to be "hidden" unless enabled. Like you have to click something elsewhere on the screen to have it show up at all so that it is never taking screen real estate or inviting click errors, and if clicked it needs a stern warning asking if you really mean to delete a machine from the system since reinstalling isn't necessarily trivial.

    @QuixoticJeremy

    I think that this is a more than fair point, and something I should have put in to begin with. Look for this in a hotfix in the near future.



  • Hotfix for this was just pushed to change control. Depending on how quick it gets rolled out you should see this fairly soon 🙂



  • New fix is up. You can now click on the little lock icon at the top of the grid to unlock the deletion option.



  • Maybe not all IT admins (namely helpdesk techs) need the capability to delete.



  • @nerdydad said in Sodium Monitoring Request: Confirm on Delete:

    Maybe not all IT admins (namely helpdesk techs) need the capability to delete.

    Already something that has been noted, while it hasn't been fully implemented you can see that this functionality is being built in with the admin module in terms of group permissions settings. So yep this will be covered (and very soon).


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to MangoLassi was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.